top of page

Honored Guest

Daniel Ariano-Sánchez, M.Sc.

Daniel Ariano-Sanchez PHOTO .jpg

Daniel Ariano-Sánchez (M.Sc.) is an Associate Professor in the Biology Department and a Biodiversity & Climate Change Researcher at the Center of Environmental Studies and Biodiversity, at Universidad del Valle de Guatemala. His primary research focus is on the behavioral ecology of endangered species of amphibians and reptiles of Guatemala and its role for their conservation in a context of climate change and habitat destruction. Daniel earned his Master´s degree in Ecology and Conservation at Universidad de Costa Rica; he also has a Master´s degree in Protected Areas Management at Universidad Complutense de Madrid. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate in Ecology at the University of South East Norway. He had studied the herpetofauna of Guatemala for more than 15 years, focusing mainly on the ecology and conservation of the Guatemalan Beaded Lizard (Heloderma charlesbogerti). He is the founder of Heloderma Natural Reserve and the NGO Zootropic, which leads all the conservation efforts done in Guatemala for the conservation of the Guatemalan Beaded Lizard and its habitat. Daniel has authored and co-authored over 35 peer-reviewed papers and notes. In 2008 he had won the Young Scientist Award from The World Academy of Sciences. He is part of the Iguana Specialist Group of the IUCN and is member of the International Research School in Applied Ecology. He has been involved in the development of conservation policies for Mesoamerican Herpetofauna at national and international level.

Link at Research Gate:

Talk title: From the Verge of Extinction to Population and Habitat Recovery: 18 Years of a Successful Cutting-Edge Community-Based Approach to Ecological Research and Conservation of the Guatemalan Beaded Lizard, Heloderma charlesbogerti.​

bottom of page